Fall Out Boy “American Beauty/American Psycho” (The GB&U Music Review)


The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly Music Reviews

American Beauty/American Psycho – Fall Out Boy (2015)

Welcome to the review of Fall Out Boy’s latest album “American Beauty/American Psycho”. Last album FOB was trying to Save Rock and Roll.Is this album a beauty to behold or a psychotic crazy album? Let us explore the good, the bad and the ugly.

The Good

It’s great to know that Patrick Stump’s voice is still as flexible and strong as ever before. To be honest, it’s been stronger since post break up Fall Out Boy. This album is full of powerful anthems which accentuate the lead singers awesome voice. If you are looking for an album that gets you hype all the way through, this album is the album for you. The album doesn’t slow down until the fourth track “The Kids Aren’t Alright” and even that song is rather medium tempo.  It’s high energy from start to finish and had me nodding my head nearly the whole way through.

 The Bad

The album is only 39 minutes long! I wanted more, maybe a song or too. When the album ended, I did a search of the track list to make sure I had all the tracks. I’m guessing this is a case of quality over quantity.

The Ugly

The ugliest part of this album and Fall Out Boy in general is the lyrics. If you want some deep profound lyrics to ponder on “American Beauty/American Psycho” doesn’t have that. Half the time I don’t ever know what the subject of a song is unless I read the lyrics online or the song title actually makes sense. At least they stopped making ridiculously long song titles. (Ex: Our lawyer made us change the name of this song so we would get sued)

Final Thoughts

Would I recommend this album? Yes

Who would I recommend this album to: Those wanting something to rock out to with high energy to get pumped for the day

Favorite Song: Uma Thurman

Least Favorite Song: Novocaine

Next week’s review: Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp a Butterfly

Past Reviews

Kelly Clarkson – “Piece by Piece”

My Thoughts on Tidal

Big Sean – Dark Sky Paradise

9 thoughts on “Fall Out Boy “American Beauty/American Psycho” (The GB&U Music Review)

  1. RoJo

    Nice review! I haven’t listened to FOB in years!! I used to love them when they first came out, though over time as I grew I grew tired of them. Though after reading your review I think I will give this album a try!!

    1. Thanks 🙂 and fall out boy is a fav of mine. I been a fan since from under the cork tree. I think this album sounds way different than earlier stuff. Sound very similar to their last album save rock & roll. Ever since thier break up after folie a deux they came back with an entirely different sound that shows off patrick stumps vocal skills

      1. RoJo

        Would you say their new sound is a good thing or a bad thing? Mumford and Sons have literally come back and they are totally different… and I really hate it… >_<

      2. I like their new sound. it sounds more modern. I like how much they have grown and the energy draws me in instantly, but I can see how an old fan would dislike it though because they have evolved a lot

  2. Pingback: Is the 10,000 Hour Rule Actually True? | Audio SeXXX

  3. Pingback: Graphics vs Aesthetics | Audio SeXXX

  4. Pingback: Kendrick Lamar “To Pimp a Butterfly” (The GB&U Music Review) | Audio SeXXX

  5. Pingback: Kendrick Lamar “To Pimp a Butterfly” (The GB&U Music Review) | Pyromaniac Productions

  6. Pingback: Kendrick Lamar “To Pimp a Butterfly” (The GB&U Music Review) | James Revels Composer

Leave a comment below

