Kendrick Lamar “To Pimp a Butterfly” (The GB&U Music Review)


The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly Music ReviewsTo Pimp a Butterfly – Kendrick Lamar (2015)

Welcome to the review of Kendrick’s latest album “To Pimp a Butterfly”. As the current torch holder of the west coast does he live up to the hype or fail us?  Let us explore the good, the bad and the ugly.

The Good

Kendrick’s sound is unique. I give him credit for trying something new with his sound. I like the groove of songs like “King Kunta” and “Wesley’s Theory” Shine on this album. I also love the Funk and RnB inspired tracks like “Complexion”, it’s smooth and instantly catches my ear.

 The Bad

Whoever produces Kendrick’s tracks lays the effects on his vocals a little to thick. Some songs, like “Institutionalized”, it’s difficult to hear his dense lyrics under all those layers of needless effects. Speaking of dense lyrics, I find it hard to remember a lot of songs because there aren’t many memorable, goose-bump creating lines. The main line I remember is from….

The Ugly

For Free?(Interlude), the second track on the album killed the entire experience of the album for me. First, why is the second track of the album an interlude?  Second, I respect the Jazz instrumentation and spoken word delivery, but to hear a man croon “This dick ain’t free” over and over again makes me feel uncomfortable. It also caused me to be more critical on the album, especially after the strong beginning with “Wesley’s Theory”

Final Thoughts

Who would I recommend this album to: Anyone who likes a funk sound and wants some hip hop with a different sound

Favorite Song: Wesley’s Theory

Least Favorite Song: For Free?

Next week’s review: Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp a Butterfly

Past Reviews

Fall Out Boy – “American Beauty/American Psycho”

Kelly Clarkson – “Piece by Piece”

My Thoughts on Tidal

Big Sean – Dark Sky Paradise

6 thoughts on “Kendrick Lamar “To Pimp a Butterfly” (The GB&U Music Review)

  1. Lol For Free(?) is such a dope track and in total keeping with the whole album’s message. I think your uncomfortableness that stemmed from “this dick ain’t free” has led you to miss the entire point which is a shame.

    1. Yeah sadly it distracted me from the point. I usually have a week with each album in between a 9 to 5 ,which makes dense albums like this a little more difficult, Although I did eventually get the point. He was talking about America as if it were a female (right?). It was lyrically and technically deep but sonically unbearable. I couldn’t get into the “vibe”. This is why I don’t use number ratings because I can see how people can appreciate most music types.

  2. Pingback: New to Audio SeXXX? | Audio SeXXX

  3. Pingback: 5 SPACE MYTHS DEBUNKED! | Audio SeXXX

Leave a comment below

