Why I’m Not Going To Vote


After this week in politics I’m officially done. This is just getting ridiculous. I’ve never been deep into politics, but I am interested in the state of my country so I don’t go outside and get bombed because the president was an ass-hat to a diplomat. Trump is an obvious bigot and he may get the GOP nomination, but I know he won’t win the presidency. I don’t hate Hilary but I don’t have a reason to like her due to ignorance. As a 90’s baby all I know Hilary as is the first lady to Bill Clinton. I’m very pessimistic about the current state of the presidential race. Someone please tell me something to give me hope in the system.

13 thoughts on “Why I’m Not Going To Vote

  1. Heartafire

    Never give up on this great country. It seems the world (the western world) wants us to give up, I will never give up on this wonderful country, we have come to far, fought too hard, lost too much treasure to allow those dead and injured warriors that we quit!

  2. I don’t know what to tell you. I am all for Bernie Sanders, but he probably won’t get the nomination. The country is run by the uber-rich and the corporations, sad, but true. I wish we could do better.

  3. I know how you feel. I am depressed about it all and all of the hateful stuff on Facebook and the media. I hope that when the election rolls around that I can vote FOR someone instead of against someone. But I hope you vote.

  4. deborahgreenhut

    Please don’t give up on your vote. If only for the sake of artists, try to educate yourself about which candidate cares about the arts. I think you will see a clear choice there. Many people fought very hard to make sure all of us could vote. Are we going to let it go? There’s a lot of noise right now, so please don’t give up.

    1. I’d rather do it myself to be honest. I don’t trust someone to represent me because they can say anything to convince me then once there they can do whatever they want in self-interest. It’s so impersonal, For me to whole heatedly vote I’d rather it be someone I’ve met before than some random person I see on TV. I may mess with local politics since I can at least meet them but national politics has hardened my heart

  5. Don’t give up. Reconsider your decision, and think of what our people went through, to get to register to vote. Just food for thought. You are an intelligent young man. Blessings and peace.

  6. Personally, my vote is going to Mr. Potted Plant yet again. Or Cthulhu, because why bother voting for the lesser evil? But in all seriousness, I’ve never liked a serious contender for presidency, those of us who are intelligent can easily see that we’re constantly being lied to and look through the BS charisma of the lead contenders.

    Personally, I think Plato has the sad right of it too: “No one ever teaches well who wants to teach, or governs well who wants to govern.” Our best presidents were those who did so out of obligation, rather than ambition or avarice. But our current political candidates are either hopeless or full of nothing but ambition and avarice both. Sadly, with the way things are too, I doubt we’ll have another political leader born of necessity rather than want, but hopefully I’m wrong.

Leave a comment below

